1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Public School Standardized Testing

State of Florida Testing


Come February or March, Central Florida public school students, grades 3 - 11, in Orange, Seminole, Lake and Osceola Counties are usually finishing up the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT).

The FCAT, first given in 1998 served as a benchmark measurement of what students are expected to know and be able to do in Reading, Mathematics and Science. The test was designed to measure Florida students' achievement of the Sunshine State Standards. The Florida Department of Education, provides all public school's test scores for the last three years.

The Sunshine State Standards, which were implemented in 1996, as the result of a growing need to unify what is being taught in Florida schools, and to hold the schools responsible for how their children are doing. The Standards are a collection of concepts that students are expected to know and understand as they progress through school. They were written in seven subject areas: The Arts, Foreign Language, Health Education, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies.

The 1999-2000 school year is the first year that the FCAT included the Florida Writes! exam. This exam is given to students in grades 4, 8 and 10. The Florida Writing Assessment is designed to measure students' proficiency in writing responses to assigned topics within a designated testing period. View examples of writing prompts, and assessment scores by county.

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Orlando
  4. Living In Orlando
  5. Education & Libraries
  6. Florida Public School Standardized Testing - FCAT

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.