Below are simple instructions necessary for a applying for a Disabled Parking Permit.
Difficulty Level: easy Time Required: 15 minutes
- Before you can apply for a Disabled Parking permit, you must have a valid Florida driver license or Florida identification card.
- Can your physician provide you with a copy of the HSMV 83039 form? If your doctor does not have any copies, you can print this form in pdf format through Adobe Acrobat Reader, or you may call 407-836-4145 (Orange County) to have one mailed to you.
- The top of the form, 'Application for Disabled Person Parking Permit Placard', must be filled out and then signed by the person applying for the permit.
- Have a qualified Physician, Osteopathic Physician, Podiatrist or Chiropractor fill out the remainder of the form.
- Permits are valid for up to 4 years and will expire on the applicant's birthday.
- Fees for the permit are $15.00. If you receive Supplemental Security Income, your fee is reduced to $9.00, or if you are a disabled veteran, your fee is only $1.50.
- For simplicity, you may submit the form by mail or you may present it in person to your local county tax collector's license plate agency. (Select links below for locations and phone numbers.)
- To avoid any delays in processing, be sure you provide the completed HSMV 83039 form, check or money order for the permit fees and your Florida driver license or identification card (send a photocopy if by mail).
- With a disabled parking permit you can park for free at street and turnstile meters for up to 4 hours.
- When using your parking permit, always have your license or ID card with you.
- You will receive a renewal form by mail before the expiration date.
- If you do not have a disabled parking permit and you park in a handicap space, you can receive fines of up to $250.
- If you use a permit that does not belong to you, you can receive a $500 fine
or up to 6 months in jail.